top of page

What are 'Chakras'?

With the growth in popularity of yoga Chakras have become well-known. A complex and ancient energy system that originated in India; they were first mentioned in the Vedas, ancient sacred texts of spiritual knowledge dating from 1500 to 1000 BC.

Chakra translated from Sanskrit means “wheel” and refers to energy points in your body.

They are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay “open” and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being.

Chakras are energy vortexes that connect your physical body to your energy body.

Think of them as wheels of light located all over your aura.

Your physical body has its energetic counterpart: Your aura.

Your physical nerves have their energetic counterparts: Your meridians.

Your physical organs have their energetic counterparts: Your chakras.

Life energy flows freely in your aura, runs through your meridians and feeds your chakras.

While there are thousands of chakras in your aura, but the seven main Chakras are located along your spine.

How does a chakra wheel flow?

The chakra wheels flow in a clockwise motion in one side and out the other. For most chakras, life force energy is absorbed through the frontside of your body, processed through your chakra and emitted through the backside of your body.

Meanwhile, the Root chakra absorbs energy up through the ground and flows upwards while the Crown chakra absorbs energy from the sky and flows it downwards.

What are the chakras responsible for?

The chakras are responsible for pumping life energy into the major centers of your body.

As these are all energetic centers of the body that correspond to feelings, one of them probably resonated with you as you were reading. A different one may resonate with you tomorrow. It’s likely that one resonates with you more than any others as a continuous problem, a chakra where you often deal with blocks. Other blockages may pop up every now and then. In the chakra system, these patterns have specific terms and there are recommended treatments.

What are the 7 main chakras ?

There are seven main chakras located in a line aligned with your spine. They correspond to the colours of the rainbow.

Here is a breakdown of where each of the major chakras is located, and the crystal colours associated with each:

1.Crown Chakra

Location: top of head

Associated Crystals: violet, white or clear

The crown chakra is linked to every other chakra (and therefore every organ in this system), and so it affects not just all of those organs, but also our brain and nervous system. It is considered the chakra of enlightenment and represents our connection to our life’s purpose and spirituality. Those with a blocked crown chakra may seem narrow-minded, skeptical, or stubborn. When this chakra is open, it is thought to help keep all the other chakras open and to bring the person bliss and enlightenment.

2. Third Eye Chakra

Location: above & between eyebrows

Crystals: indigo, dark blue

Since this chakra is physically located on the head, blockages can manifest as headaches, issues with sight or concentration, and hearing problems. People who have trouble listening to reality (who seem to “know it all”) or who are not in touch with their intuition may also have a block. When open and in alignment, it’s thought that people will follow their intuition and be able to see the big picture.

3.Throat Chakra: Communication Energy Center

Location: base of throat

Crystals: blue

As one would expect, this chakra is connected to our ability to communicate verbally. Voice and throat problems as well as any problems with everything surrounding that area, such as the teeth, gums, and mouth, can indicate a blockage. Blocks or misalignment can also be seen through dominating conversations, gossiping, speaking without thinking, and having trouble speaking your mind. When in alignment, you will speak and listen with compassion and feel confident when you speak because you know you are being true to yourself with your words.

4. Heart Chakra: Love Energy Center

Location: center of chest

Crystals: green or pink

Blocks in our heart chakra can manifest in our physical health through heart problems, asthma, and weight issues. But blocks are often seen even more clearly through people’s actions.

People with heart chakra blocks often put others first, to their own detriment. It’s the middle of the seven chakras, so it bridges the gap between our upper and lower chakras, and it also represents our ability to love and connect to others. When out of alignment, it can make us feel lonely, insecure, and isolated.

5. Solar Plexus Chakra: Emotional Energy Center

Location: just above navel

Crystals: yellow, brown

Blockages in the third chakra are often experienced through digestive issues like ulcers, heartburn, eating disorders, and indigestion. It’s the chakra of our personal power. This means it’s related to our self-esteem and self-confidence.

6. Sacral Chakra: Sexual Energy Center

Location: just below navel

Crystals: orange

Issues with this chakra can be seen via problems with the associated organs, like urinary tract infections, lower back pain, and impotency. Emotionally, this chakra is connected to our feelings of self-worth, and even more specifically, our self-worth around pleasure, sexuality, and creativity.

7. Root Chakra: Physical Energy Center

Location: base of spine

Crystals: red

A blocked root chakra can manifest as physical issues like arthritis, constipation, and bladder or colon problems, or emotionally through feeling insecure about finances or our basic needs and well-being. When it’s in alignment and open, we will feel grounded and secure, both physically and emotionally.

You can also throw in an eighth chakra at the feet for grounding. Black and brown stones are great for this chakra.


bottom of page